close window

Awards and Scholarships

BPI Tony Woods Award for Excellence in Advancing the Home Performance Industry

Each year BPI presents the Tony Woods Award for Excellence in Advancing the Home Performance Industry. The award honors past board member, and home performance industry pioneer, Tony Woods. It recognizes an individual who has advanced and demonstrated dedication to the home performance industry over the past year.

Past Tony Woods winners have accomplished the following:

  • Success in professionalizing the home performance industry  
  • Advanced knowledge of building science principles
  • Promotion of public policies that achieve energy efficiency and non-energy benefits of home performance for consumers
  • Championed the principles of Quality Management Systems within the home performance industry

Past Tony Wood Award Recipients:

  • Stephen L. Cowell
  • Laverne Dalgleish
  • Matt Golden
  • Dick Kornbluth
  • Michael Lotesto
  • Don MacOdrum
  • Ruth Ann Norton
  • Dave Robinson
  • Tamasin Sterner
  • John Tooley
  • Peter Troast
  • Peter Welch

Tony Woods was a member of the BPI Board of Directors and President of Canam Building Envelope Specialists Inc. and ZERODRAFT®. He was a pioneer of the home performance industry. During his career, he served tirelessly as a volunteer board member with BPI, ACI (now Home Performance Coalition), as president of the Ontario Building Envelope Council. Woods served on more than ten Standards Committees dealing with air leakage control, air barriers, and ventilation. Woods presented on building envelope retrofit and home performance topics throughout North America and around the world. Woods was also the first Canadian to become a BPI Training Organization and introduced BPI to the Canadian Government. Woods was the inaugural recipient of the awards. He also received a Lifetime Achievement Award from ACI (now Home Performance Coalition). Woods passed away in 2009 after a battle with leukemia.

Building Performance Industry Hall of Fame

BPI recognizes individuals who, over the course of their career, have made significant and lasting contributions to the building performance industry. Nominated by their peers, and selected by a panel of impartial judges, these individuals are recognized for their significant, and lasting contributions, to the building performance industry. 

Past Hall of Fame Honorees:

  • Larry Armanda
  • Michael Blasnik
  • Rick Chitwood
  • Stephen L. Cowell
  • Dennis Creech
  • Rob deKieffer
  • Leticia Colon de Mejias
  • Jim Fitzgerald
  • Don Fugler
  • Rick Gerardi
  • Jim Gushinan
  • Hap Haven
  • David Hepinstall 
  • Rick Karg
  • John Krigger
  • Joe Kuonen
  • Joe Lstiburek
  • Bruce Manclark
  • Ed Minch
  • Courtney Moriarta
  • Gary Nelson
  • Brad Oberg
  • Larry Palmiter
  • Helen Perrine
  • John Proctor
  • Mike Rogers
  • Art Rosenfeld
  • Charles Segerstrom
  • Bill Spohn
  • Greg Thomas
  • John Tooley
  • Linda Wiggington

Jon Siemen Memorial Scholarship

The Jon Siemen Memorial Scholarship was developed to honor the life, memory, and work of Jon Siemen, BPI Technical Relations Representative, who passed away in March 2015.

BPI will award this scholarship to four recipients annually. Recipients of the Jon Siemen Memorial Scholarship will take the online and field exams, for the certification designation indicated on the application, at no cost. BPI will also help the scholarship recipients with training and exam coordination.

Click here to review the instructions and application for the Jon Siemen Memorial Scholarship. The instructions include the scholarship specifics, how to apply, who should apply, deadlines, and eligibility requirements.

For any other questions and to submit applications, please contact