close window

Standards Technical Committees

The Standards Technical Committees (STCs) are composed of industry experts appointed by BPI’s Standards Management Team upon application and careful review to ensure that its membership is composed of participants from diverse interest categories and that its decisions are balanced, reflecting the views of all industry stakeholders.

Scope: Standardization activities include:

  • Assessment of residential buildings to improve the energy efficiency, limited aspects of building durability and occupant comfort, health and safety
  • Test methods
  • Material specifications
  • Installation of various energy conservation and energy efficiency measures to the building envelope and building systems
  • Application standards for these measures
  • Verification and commissioning of building envelope and building systems
  • Other ancillary standards that might be needed to support these activities, including data collection/analysis/reporting and on-site energy (solar, wind, fuel cells, combined heat and power)
  • Expand the tabs below to view the current members of each of the Standards Technical Committees.

Single Family Standard Technical Committee

Chair: Kevin Powell, Redhorse Corp, General

Current Membership:

  • David Averback, Walker-Miller Energy Services, General
  • Jonathan Ballew, NASCAP, Industry
  • Mimi Burbage, Alaska Housing Finance Corp, User
  • Robert DeVries, NuWool Co Inc, Industry
  • Tom Davis, EnergyScan , Industry
  • Ross Dillon, WSP USA, Inc., General
  • Bill Eckman, Oak Ridge Research Laboratory, Industry
  • Jason Fisher, ICF, General
  • Brian Haggerty, TRC, General
  • Earl Hicks, CLEAResult, General
  • Bobby Hight, A Hight on Homes, User
  • Horace (Doug) Hunt, Plamers Heating & AC, LLC, Industry
  • Rob Jones, Energy & Env Training Center KC, LLC, User
  • Joe Konopacki, Insight Property Services, User
  • John Levey, NORA, Industry
  • Zach Merrin, U of Illinois – Applied Research Inst., General
  • John Mitchell, JLC Industries, Industry
  • Kevin Myers, Santee Electric Cooperative, General
  • Gregory Nahn, Slipstream, General
  • Josh Nickols, Black River Area Development Corp, General
  • Jake Nuckolls, Opportunity Council, General
  • Robert O’Brien, Technical Heating, Industry
  • Doug Pearl, LEADS Community Action Agency, User
  • Kevin Powell, Redhorse Corp, General
  • Thomas Robel, Rocky Mountain Dev Council, General
  • Charles (CT) Temple, Arapahoe County Govt, General
  • Andrew Woodruff, CHP-ESRT, User

Multifamily Standard Technical Committee

Chair: Don Hynek, Wisconsin Division of Energy, Housing, and Community Resources

Current Membership:

  • Eliot Benor, Building Envelope Testing, LLC, Industry
  • Amy Dryden, Association for Energy Affordability, User
  • Jerritt Gluck, Bonded Building & Engineering, Industry
  • Yigit Guctas, L & S Energy Services, Inc., User
  • Sarah Hill, Association for Energy Affordability, General
  • Kathleen Hanlon, Tetra Tech, Industry
  • William Kraus, Washington State Department of Commerce, General
  • Scott Kreuter, RISE Engineering, General
  • Mike Maroney, TRC Solutions, General
  • J.R. McGowan, Tailbay, LLC, General
  • Christopher Steinhoff, Elevate Energy, User
  • Andy Wildenberg, E3 Power, User
  • Data & Modeling Standard Technical Committee
  • The Data and Modeling Standard Technical Committee is currently on hiatus.

Standards Technical Committee Working Groups

There are currently no active working groups.