close window

Air Leakage Control Installer


The Air Leakage Control Installer (formerly known as RBE-WHALCI) certification verifies the ability to tighten the building envelope, reduce energy loss from air leakage, and better indoor air quality by reducing pollutants and allergens. Installers improve thermal comfort and energy efficiency through the proper installation of dense-pack insulation materials.

Certification Scheme Handbook

Please read the Air Leakage Control Installer Certification Scheme Handbook prior to applying for the certification.

Steps to Get Air Leakage Control Installer Certified

  1. Read the Certification Scheme Handbook for the Air Leakage Control Installer certification.
  2. Training (optional): BPI does not require training and is not affiliated with any training centers. However, individuals that complete training typically perform better on BPI exams. Most BPI Test Centers offer training.
  3. Schedule your exams with a BPI Test Center in your area.
  4. Take your Air Leakage Control Installer exam (field).
  5. Certification: If successful, your certification will be available for print or download in your candidate account.

Exam Preparation

Candidates must take a field exam to become Air Leakage Control Installer certified.

Field exam: Verbal and hands-on field portion
Time limit: 7 hours
Passing score: 90% or higher on the verbal portion and a 93% or higher on remaining props

To be successful, you must receive a score of 90% on the verbal portion, pass all gated props, and receive a minimum score of 93% on the remaining un-gated props.

Processing time for exam results: 2-4 weeks

Exam Fees

Exam prices are set by BPI Test Centers. Please contact them for pricing.


BPI Air Leakage Control Installers must recertify every three (3) years.

Candidates that meet specific work experience criteria after becoming certified may be able to bypass the field exam.

Please review the Certification Renewal Policies for more information. Fill out the Application for Certification Renewal once you determine that you are eligible for recertification.